Aboriginal Picture

Ernie Dances to the Didgeridoo – Alison Lester
Ernie is a city boy who moves to the Arnhem Land for a year. He flies over the desert for hours, traveling over the floodplains, crosses the East Alligator River and arrives in Arnhem Land. He writes back home to his friends telling of the seasons, of the everyday simple amusements, of the cultural life of the children of Arnhem Land. Interesting, informative and flows naturally. Held the attention of my eight, five and three year olds.

Tarrah, granddaughter of the author reveals the beauty of life in Kadadu National Park. Tarrah goes out with her family gathering bush tucker, fishing and hunting. Did you know that the Aboriginal people of Northern Territory know six seasons? Whereas most people see only two, the Wet and the Dry. Fascinating book.
Walking through the Seasons in Kakadu by Diane Lucus 
The illustrations in this book are absolutely stunning. It is rich in information of the seasons, of the flora and fauna, of the wildlife, of the culture of the people who live there today. I would recommend this more for the older child, there was too much information to hold the attention of my five year old.
Uncle Max and his lively group of friends experience the thrill of a muster and rodeo, pan for gold, explore the rugged beauty of the Bungle Bungles and enjoy traditional bush foods.

Percy Trezise

All of Percy Trezise’ books are brilliant.  Unfortunately some books are out of print. Our  personal favourites are  the ‘Journey of the Great Lake’ series; the adventures of three young children who are blown away from their family on a raft and have to journey home through many tribal lands. In some lands they encounter help, in other lands danger. There were seven books written before the author’s death in 2005. I’m afraid that the journey may not be finished as only one was being published a year.)

Home of the Kadimakara People – Percy Trezise

Jadianta, his sister Lande and little brother Jalmor are fishing one day when a storm blows their walpa out into Balanorga, the great lake. After many days a gentler wind blows them onto the western shore and, from there, the journey back to their people begins.
Traveling through the Land of the Dingo People.
Jadianta, Lande and Jalmor are three children of the Kadimakara People who were caught in a storm and stranded across the great lake, Balanorga. Now they are trying to find their way home and in this part of the series, they are in the land of the Snake People.

Land of the Emu People – Percy TreziseThe three children continue their journey through the  Land of the Emu People.

Jadianta, Lande and Jalmor have been stranded across the great lake, Balanorga. This story finds them in the Land of the Brolga People. As their journey continues they discover the spectacular Rainbow Serpent and fall into an adventure with a giant snake named Wonambi.

Land of the Magpie Goose People – Percy Trezise

Continues the journey of Jadianta, Lande and Jalmor. In this book they run across the terrifying giant goannas, and the rock paintings in the Quinkin cave.

Land of the Kangaroo People – Percy Trezise

Traveling through the Land of the Kangaroo People.

Gidj – Percy Trezise

The Cave Painters – Percy Trezise

The Cave Painters is a picture book set in The Cape York Peninsula (as are all of Percy Trezise’s books) following the journey of an Aboriginal family from the Bullanji clan going home to visit the mother’s clan in the desert.  The family take gifts for their relatives and after traveling many days they arrive at their mother’s people’s place where they are joyously welcomed. Whilst there the children visit the caves to see the different pictures and are taught the clans stories.

It’s over 40,000 years ago and Lasca’s pups are about to be born. True to her nature as a dingo, she leaves her human friends Ngalia and his little sister Mayli, and goes to the creek to dig a den. However there is always danger for dingo pups from Thylacine, the striped wolf.

The Giant Devil-Dingo – Percy Trezise

Quinkin Mountain – Percy Trezise
Two children are hunting with their dingo, Lasca, when they are threatened by a huge bushfire which drives them towards the dreaded Quinkin mountain to seek shelter in the caves. The story shows the conflict with the Imjins, aid from Jimaras and protection from a clever Lasca.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *